When The Levees Broke is a documentary about Hurricane Katrina. While watching this, it has definitely given me more knowledge on the subject than I have ever had. At points, it really angers me to see how long it actually took to even start to help victims. What the hell was the government doing? At the same time, why did these people stay? I understand why some people did; they had to. When you're poor and homeless, chances are, you don't have a car or transportation to evacuate in case of an emergency. But what about the people who did have transportation; why didn't they leave? It doesn't make sense to me but then again, you never really know what you're going to do until you get put into that situation.
Hearing some of the victims talk about this tragedy really makes me emotional. I can really see and feel these victims emotions. When they cry, when the yell, when the cuss, when they just sit there in silence, you can feel the emotions they are experiencing. It just makes me wonder why is it taking so long to help these people out. People are still without homes, electricity, good food and water. Why is that happening 3 years later?
And the information that I do know that isn't from this documentary really makes me angry as well. Seeing the houses in the video with more than one X on them really angers me. That means that those houses had to be checked more than once because the first, second, and even third time it was done, it wasn't done right. People were still coming home and finding dead bodies in their houses! If you're checking a damaged home for dead bodies, how the hell do just knock on the door and if no one answers, put a big zero, meaning no casualties? Do you really think a dead person is about to get up and answer the door? What were the people checking the houses thinking?!
This is one of the biggest natural disasters America has ever seen and look how we're reacting to it. Three years later and New Orleans still looks like it got yesterday. I just don't believe it..
Monday, July 28, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

1 comment:
Hey Kathleen, I liked your response to the video. I know what you mean the whole situation can be very frustrating and I can’t even imagine how I would feel if it was me in the video talking about how I lost everything, I would just want to scream. But at the same time I’m really concerned about what people (including average citizens) can do now to help the situation. I feel like they focus so much on how bad everything is and they blame like the government for all the problems and it’s true, the U.S. government reacted horribly and they are idiots. But still that doesn’t help the situation, and they don’t talk about new ideas that might. So I think that’s also kind of frustrating, I don’t like the blame game and I want to know how people are going to fix New Orleans. I really want to know what’s going on right now to make the situation a better one and how other people can help. But still, I totally agree that this movie is really emotional and I feel so bad for the victims.
Post a Comment